North Fork Beauty

This is my new blog dedicated to healthy and delicious food, wine, and the beauty of the countryside. Follow me and we can get this blog rolling together!

Leave a comment

Portobello Mushroom Fajitas

  • These were really awesome despite the use of much seasoning and thats why I decided to share. I happened to slice my finger open cutting an avacado in a hurry, which was my addition to the recipe, but luckily these were good enough that I didnt care much!!

Recipe:

1 tablespoon olive oil

4 cups of sliced portobellos (I guestimated at 3 caps)

1 cup of vertically slices red onion (used 1/2 of a regular onion, instead)

1 cup of green bell pepper strips (obviously, I used red, sucha rebel)

2 minced garlic cloves

3 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro

1 tablespoon of fresh lime juice (didnt use fresh)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 serrano chile (I used the jalapeno I had on-hand instead)

12 flour tortillas

1 cup of crumbled queso fresco (I think any favorite cheese will do just fine 🙂 )

Salsa

Heat the oil in a medium pan on medium high, saute the mushrooms for about 5 minutes. Then add your pepper, onion, and garlic – turn down to medium and saute for another 4 minutes. Take it off the heat and add the cilantro, chile, salt, pepper, and lime juice.

The recipe is courtesy of my Cooking Light cookbook, but I think the servings were a little off. I’d say theres about 4-5 servings of filling, depending on how much you use. Add as much salsa, cheese, sour cream as you want (unless you want to keep this recipe LIGHT). I also added some avacado. Serving size is 3 fajitas according to the recipe but you can do the math.

437 calories per serving (3 fajitas), 12.7g fat, 13.8g of protein, 9mg cholesterol, 219mg calcium, 792mg sodium, 4.9g fiber, 3.9mg iron, 65.9g carbsss.

Author: NorthForkBeauty

I am 25 years old, living on Long Island. I recently finished my second Bachelor's (ha) getting a degree in Nursing from Columbia University! I love photography, cooking, wine, healthy eating, and eastern Long Island in general - and this is what I've dedicated my blog to.

Leave a Reply

